Life Isn’t All Happiness & Sunshine (but that doesn’t stop me from enjoying happiness & sunshine)

image

Any writers out there? Perhaps you, like me, are an aspiring writer trying to find a way to make your passion into your profession. Maybe, like me, you’re a blogger moved to challenge yourself,  express your thoughts and explore your feelings in the written format. If you’re any of the above, I’ve got a question for you: how do you get people to read your work?

Here it is–I am a lawyer by training, an artist by nature. Ever since I can remember, I’ve gravitated toward various forms of artistic expression. From dance, to playing the violin, to painting and drawing, to writing, there  has always been an artist trapped inside of me trying to come out and take over. Why did I not pursue my passions professionally? Well, that’s a long story for another day. The important thing is that I am trying to do that now. I know that I have something inside to share and I’m trying to pursue it in the best way I can now.

But, how do I go about doing that? Ah, that’s the million dollar question.

This blog, my Facebook page (Atilovestheworld) and my Instagram gallery (@atilovestheworld) are some of the ways  I am trying to reach out and get my work seen. I also occasionally send my writing to a few friends and loved ones, in hope of getting exposure, finding followers, and hopefully finding a mentor, a believer or a supporter to help get me on the right path. Everything I’ve read on this subject stresses the importance of getting eye balls to pay attention and get your work read. So, without trying to be heavy-handed or annoying, I send my writing to a few people here and there in the hope of receiving honest feedback and helpful support.

A few weeks ago, I sent a link to one of my pieces to a few friends. In my email, I thanked them for reading my work, asked for their feedback and expressed an interest in finding a mentor to guide me and my writing. Only a couple of friends even acknowledged having received the email. One friend told me that my writing indicates that I’m suffering from depression. The whole experience left me discouraged. I mean, if I can’t even get my friends to take a few minutes to read my writing (without attempting to diagnose me psychologically), how am I ever going to get strangers to pay attention?

My blog is a reflection of my life. That is the style of my writing. I write about my experiences. And my experiences have taught me that life isn’t all about happiness and sunshine. I mean, I’m an immigrant who can’t ever go back, a disenchanted lawyer, a lonely only child of one surviving parent who lives away, and a woman who’s been battling with infertility for close to seven years. Happiness and sunshine are not exactly the main ingredients of the life I have right now. And yet, this doesn’t mean that I live devoid of ample doses of happiness and sunshine. And, I believe, my writing actually reflects my inner journey as well as my pursuit of life, liberty and happiness.

So, the question persists. If your writing reflects life’s honest obstacles, setbacks and ups and downs, how do you get people to read it?

A diagnosis of depression may have temporarily stopped me from writing. But I am driven and moved to write. I must. So, no amount discouragement or writer’s block will stop me. I belive in my writing. And I believe that there are those who would benefit from my words, my journey and my passion. So,  depressed I’m not. But determined I am. And if you’re out there and have experienced similar obstacles, issues and difficulties in getting your work read, I’d love to hear from you. Just don’t try to diagnose me, if you please. Thank you.

image

About Atilovesparis

I am one with many faces, states and moods. I am a liberal progressive and an old fashion romantic. I am an aspiring writer and a mother-in-waiting. I am a Francophile. I am not defined by what I do for a living, but by my goals, thoughts, ideas, hopes, views, experiences and accomplishments. I am simple and complicated. I am me...
This entry was posted in Art, Create Yourself, Happiness Project, IF, Joie de Vivre, Life Lessons, Write something and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life Isn’t All Happiness & Sunshine (but that doesn’t stop me from enjoying happiness & sunshine)

  1. Thank you, Nessa. It does. I know I need to change things up and find a different way to get my work read. You gave a good springboard to take my leap. Merci beaucoup!

  2. Love your post! Keep up that optimism, I truly think that the best way to help ourselves is helping others!

    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com

Leave a Reply

