Make Me A List Monday

It’s Monday and that means it’s time to post my weekly list. Today’s list is about all the happy things I experienced while I chose to be cellphone-free for the better part of the day (read my post from yesterday if you want to know what made me turn my phone off).

But, before I present my list, I would be dishonest if I didn’t admit that it was at first quite hard to go without my phone. I kept reaching for it to take photos, or to send a text, and to make phone calls. But after a couple of hours, not only did I adjust to not being able to use my phone, I began to thrive. And I enjoyed my distraction-free surroundings so much that I didn’t turn my phone back on for two more hours than I had originally planned. I’m proud to announce that I spent 8 hours without, checking or looking at my cellphone today. Never thought I’d be able to write that sentence.

Okay. Without further a due, here’s the list of all the great things I experienced while my phone stood turned off and cast aside today:

1. Procrastination, you’re fired- today, I had the discipline and focus to banish procrastination and just do what needed to get done. I was sharp, on target and productive. It was awesome!

2. Multi-tasking, you suck- okay, I know that we live in the land of multi-tasking and our culture reveres the ability of people being able to do a variety of things all at the same time. But, studies have shown that when we multi-task, we’re really not paying a great deal of attention to any of the tasks we are attempting and nothing gets done as efficiently as when we focus on doing one thing at a time. Personally, I find multi-tasking to be soul sucking. I just do! I find it mentally exhausting. And I find that when I multi-task, I’m really not present in the moment in any meaningful way. I’m simply acting like a robot. Now, some may find this state of being optimum. I don’t. I want to be present and I want to truly experience my life, all of it. Today, being free from the distraction of constantly checking and rechecking my phone, I felt present and aware and happy in the moment. Whatever I did, that was the only thing I focused on. And that feeling brought me such relief and happiness.

3. Being distraction-free is a grand thing- I made my to-do list this morning and, without the usual distractions and disruptions, I managed to get all I needed to get done efficiently and quickly. The reward? I got done with my tasks quickly enough to sneak in a matinee, right in my own living room. That’s right. I rewarded myself by watching an classic movie this afternoon. When was the last time you sat down to watch a movie on a workday at 2 in the afternoon?

4. A stress-free day is a lovely gift- no incessant email reading eveytime the device chirps; no obsessive drive to respond to every email, every post, every voicemail and every text message with a lightening speed. No stress.

5. Lesson learned- the world will not come to an end if I’m unable to click away photos, or if I miss a phone call. Life can go on even without being surgically attached to one’s phone.

So, threre it is. Productivity upped, happiness archived and stress levels decreased. Project Happiness rolls right on and all is well with the world. Now…I wonder if I could take a complete fast from social networking sites alltogether? Hmmm. Stay tuned.

About Atilovesparis

I am one with many faces, states and moods. I am a liberal progressive and an old fashion romantic. I am an aspiring writer and a mother-in-waiting. I am a Francophile. I am not defined by what I do for a living, but by my goals, thoughts, ideas, hopes, views, experiences and accomplishments. I am simple and complicated. I am me...
This entry was posted in Ati Loves Fashion, Create Yourself, Happiness Project, Joie de Vivre, Life Lessons, MMALM and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

