Have Life, Will Write

20130110-175031.jpg

A friend of mine sent me a New Year’s greeting email full of great quotes. They’re all wonderfully inspirational, but this one just sings to my “frustrated writer” heart.

Having never taken a creative writing class (an oversight I aim to correct in 2013), I’ve only really written essays and pieces about my own life’s journey, my feelings and thoughts. I wouldn’t know how to begin writing fiction, I can’t rhyme to save my life, and I’m not wise enough to write anything self-helpy. So, I write about what I know–my life.

And being an aspiring writer, I’ve always worried that my work will never go beyond the pages of my journal or my blog. Then I read books by David Sedaris and others who write in that genre, I think maybe…

So this quote really hits me where I find myself right now. And I love it. I’ve read and re-read it every day since receiving it in that email of my friend’s. And I feel hope, a sense of direction and possibility every time I read it.

Have life (live life, bleed life), will write…

About Atilovesparis

I am one with many faces, states and moods. I am a liberal progressive and an old fashion romantic. I am an aspiring writer and a mother-in-waiting. I am a Francophile. I am not defined by what I do for a living, but by my goals, thoughts, ideas, hopes, views, experiences and accomplishments. I am simple and complicated. I am me...
Image | This entry was posted in Ati's Life, Write something. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

