A Question Beyond My Intelligence

image

So, I recently picked up a great new book designed to get the creative juices flowing and inspire writing about topics one might not pick to write about otherwise. 642 Things to Write About by the San Francisco Writers’ Grotto is a great little device for me. For years now I’ve been entertaining the idea of taking a creative writing course to sharpen my writing skills and explore various forms and categories of writing. The trouble with me is that I stuffer from the “What If I Suck” Disease. I shiver at the thought of reading my work to a group of writers and quake at the idea of being critiqued.

 
I know my fears are unreasonable and serve as a huge stumbling block to my own growth as a writer. I know I’ll have to just get over my fears and hangups. But, until then, I’m sinking my teeth into my new writing aid and allowing my imagination to take flight. And I’ve been a great time writing about ull sorts of interesting topics.

 
I was doing great until I opened my book to a page which demanded that I write about where I’d be in exactly a year from now. My first instinct was to write: “f-ck if I know” and call it done. Instead, I decided to blog about it, while spending some time reflecting on this deeply simple, yet quite difficult topic. Procrastination, maybe. But, hey, it’s better than the original “f-ck if I know”, right?

 
So, a gold star to me for not giving up and continuing to write. As for my writing assignment, stay tuned.

About Atilovesparis

I am one with many faces, states and moods. I am a liberal progressive and an old fashion romantic. I am an aspiring writer and a mother-in-waiting. I am a Francophile. I am not defined by what I do for a living, but by my goals, thoughts, ideas, hopes, views, experiences and accomplishments. I am simple and complicated. I am me...
This entry was posted in Art, Ati's Life, Write something. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

