Happy Birthday, Ati

This blog is the result of a new year’s resolution- of a sort. The thing is that I’ve created two other blogs before this one. One was meant to be a family blog and I created it after I got married in 2006. It was going to be where I planned to share news, photos and updates of our growing family to be. You know, baby announcements, ultrasound images and baby pictures. But after many years of infertility, it simply ended up being a blog filled with friends’ and family members’ baby photos and announcements. It became a physical sign of our pain, loss and loneliness. So, I eventually decided to stop posting anything else until our own family grows bigger than me and my husband. I have hope that I’ll be able to go back to it and begin writing there again soon. The other blog was conceived out of my need to express my opinions and feelings, which at the time were based in anger and resentment. It was brutally honest, openly pain-filled and mostly angry. When I got tired of being angry, I stopped maintaining that blog.

So, as 2011 approached, I made myself a promise: create, cultivate and maintain a blog for one whole year. There was no theme or no grand design, simply the goal of writing honest, heart-felt pieces about subjects that preoccupied, bothered, soothed, nourished and inspired me. I told myself to write at least one piece for the next twelve months, although initially I hoped to write on weekly basis. No pressure though. Easy breezy.

The official date for this blog was to be in January of 2011. But, I was so jazzed up by my resolution, so inspired by the idea of keeping a blog that would be free from the issues of the last two blogs, that I began posting in November of last year. My very first post was on November 21, 2010. And I’ve enjoyed my creation so much, that I missed the anniversary when it finally came around. I only realized that I’ve been writing this blog for over year today when I went back and looked at my very first post.

I made it! I accomplished my goal of maintaining this blog for one year. I’ve filled it with pain, sadness, yearning, happiness, day dreaming, obsessions, goals, life lessons, a pinch of ooh la la and a whole lot of joie de vivre. And I am very proud of what I’ve created. I may have not given birth to that baby I’ve been waiting for yet, but I feel like this blog has been my baby and I’ve succeeded in birthing something beautiful.

To the few who stop by, look at my pictures and read my written creations from time to time, I say thank you. It’s amazing to write from my heart all by itself, and having my writing enjoyed by others is a great extra benefit. I thank those who’ve supported me and cheered me on. Your words of encouragement and kind comments have been a wonderful gift. Merci beaucoup!

So, happy birthday Ati. Here’s to another brilliant year filled with rich experiences of all kinds and many more life lessons. Here’s to expressing, reinventing and enhancing. Here’s to creativity.

About Atilovesparis

I am one with many faces, states and moods. I am a liberal progressive and an old fashion romantic. I am an aspiring writer and a mother-in-waiting. I am a Francophile. I am not defined by what I do for a living, but by my goals, thoughts, ideas, hopes, views, experiences and accomplishments. I am simple and complicated. I am me...
This entry was posted in Ati's Life, Joie de Vivre, Write something. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday, Ati

  1. I’m so glad you started this blog… please continue maintaining it … You inspire me. xo

Leave a Reply

