Find Your Happy Place (And Visit Often)

Bonjour! And Happy Bastille Day! July 14 has officially been dubbed (by me) as Ati’s most favorite and fabulous holiday. Yes, I’ve decided to commandeer a nation’s holiday and make it my very own personal special day.

It is no secret to those who know me that I LOVE Paris. It’s a preoccupation, a second occupation, an obsession, a way to escape and my way of brining more happiness into my life as often as I can. All things Parisian and anything French seem to just magically lift my spirits and put me in a good mood, no matter what real life happens to be throwing at me.

So, it’s no surprise when I declare that Paris is my happy place. It’s where I feel freedom, passion, beauty and hope, in addition to happiness of course. It’s the place that makes every other place and thing in life ok.

So, I try to visit and be there as much as possible…without having to actually be there.

Everyday, I do something that’s “Frenchified” and Parisian-inspired. And the more I search for sources of inspiration, the more outlets I find to fulfil my goal of injecting more and more joie de vivre into my everyday life.

One of my many "dream boards"

My favorite is my lunch times in Paris. I find a peaceful place around noon, pull out my trusty iPad and begin my voyage. I’ve found more than a dozen blogs about Paris, which I visit every midday during lunch time. There are so many beautiful ones, but a few of my favorites are: Paris Breakfast (http://parisbreakfasts.blogspot.com/); Peter’s Paris (http://peter-pho2.blogspot.com/); and the original, Paris Daily Photo (http://www.parisdailyphoto.com/). Carol, Peter and Eric, the creative proprietors of these blogs don’t know me from the next person. But, I feel like their my personal friends and appreciate being able to have lunch with them in Paris on most days. Merci! No matter how busy the day, for just a few minutes, I sit peacefully and find myself transported to my happy place.

I took this picture two years ago this week

I also try to incorporate as many French and Parisian elements as I can into my life in Los Angeles. I try to lead a simpler life, enjoying the small joys and beauties of each day. I’ve taken up biking, especially when I go to my local farmer’s market or to the beach. I eat macarons whenever I can. I journal in my cherished Clairfontaine notebooks. And I’m even trying my hand at French cooking. Let’s not talk about the dozens of books I’ve read, re-read or have plans to read about French living, French women, French history and all sorts of French topics. I can talk about those books for hours.

My favorite way to start the day

Bottega Louie, Paulette, Amandine, or TJ's. I love 'em all!

These are a few of my favorite things...

This is me Frenchified

So, I’ve found my happy place and I visit it as often as I can. Do you have a happy place? If not, what are you waiting for? Get yourself a happy place and visit it often.

Have a great Bastille Day!!

About Atilovesparis

I am one with many faces, states and moods. I am a liberal progressive and an old fashion romantic. I am an aspiring writer and a mother-in-waiting. I am a Francophile. I am not defined by what I do for a living, but by my goals, thoughts, ideas, hopes, views, experiences and accomplishments. I am simple and complicated. I am me...
This entry was posted in Ati's Life, Holidays, Joie de Vivre, LA, Paris. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Find Your Happy Place (And Visit Often)

  1. shidehs says:

    Even I dont speak french but this article made me look up couple of words by translator..”Son un grand lire”! and great picture too!
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

