In Napa

Something happens to me when I travel. Suddenly, I’m this “anything is possible”, “can-do” person. And I do things I hardly ever do when I’m at home. Like, I sit quietly and peacefully without the TV on and just read or journal for hours. Or I take the city by a storm, walking for hours and meandering everywhere or taking buses to places I’ve never been to, all the while jam packing a world of adventures into a few hours.

Mostly, I feel this great sense of potential, possibility and “sky’s the limit” while traveling. It’s such a great way to feel. It’s energizing and at times electrifying. And I wish I felt it in my routine life at least every once in a while.

Why is that? How come I feel this way when I go away? Why don’t I feel this way at home? Do others feel like this? I seem to ask myself these questions on every trip. I keep asking. But I ask in vain, and I know it. And when I get tired of asking my repetitious questions, I finally just give in, relax and immerse into this peaceful but exhilarating feeling. And I just feel for as long as I can.

This is where I find myself this evening. I’m sitting in my beautiful and dimly lit private “studio” in Napa Valley, just savoring this moment. As I write, I listen to a beautifully soothing song. The fireplace warms my body, while the sight of my sweet Stella napping peacefully on the bed next to me warms my spirit. I hear her breathing deeply and feel my inner self smile.

To say that I am blissful in this moment is an understatement. I am blissful, hopeful, peaceful and happy. Life is lived just to get to moments like this. Life’s worth living because of moments like this.

Whenever you feel bliss, record the moment in whatever way you can. I just did…

About Atilovesparis

I am one with many faces, states and moods. I am a liberal progressive and an old fashion romantic. I am an aspiring writer and a mother-in-waiting. I am a Francophile. I am not defined by what I do for a living, but by my goals, thoughts, ideas, hopes, views, experiences and accomplishments. I am simple and complicated. I am me...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

