Christmas in the City of Angels

I have lived in Tehran, Rome, Dallas and Los Angeles. I love the energy and the internal buzz of a big city. That energy, that excitement, triples during the holidays. A lot of my most cherished memories in life are from Christmas time: going with my dad to buy our very first Christmas tree when I was in first grade; walking around New York City, marveling at the holiday decorations and window displays; and Rome’s countless beautiful churches with their elaborate “Presepi”, or nativity scenes, with the baby Jesus missing and magically appearing on Christmas day. Beautiful memories from a beautiful time of the year.

LA is a big, busy and spread out city. Its weather is always spring like. It’s easy to miss the whole holiday feeling here if you’re not careful. But I love this time of the year too much to let it fly by me unnoticed. So, when December arrives, I make sure to spend some time and catch the magic of the season wherever I go and whatever I do. This year, I have made a conscious effort to capture more of the magic by taking pictures of all things holiday related. It’s my way of taking fleeting memories and recording them in a more concrete and permanent way.

So, Merry Christmas and ho, ho,ho from the City of Angels. Enjoy.

LA's version of "White Christmas"

Hmmmm...

Whole Food's cupcakes look frilly and beautiful

Louie's Macaron window is the most festive thing I have ever seen!

The Grove's Christmas tree is reportedly the tallest in the country

My new hair salon is just two doors down from the Christian Louboutin. Salivating! Salivating!!

As kid who grew up overseas & in a predominately non-Christian country, I never experienced the whole sit on Santa's lap and make a wish thing. Can't wait to take my future kids to see Santa at his workshop!

Nordstrom's window at the Grove

Bottega Louie, one of my favorites in LA, is all decked out in bows and frilly macaron box displays

 

About Atilovesparis

I am one with many faces, states and moods. I am a liberal progressive and an old fashion romantic. I am an aspiring writer and a mother-in-waiting. I am a Francophile. I am not defined by what I do for a living, but by my goals, thoughts, ideas, hopes, views, experiences and accomplishments. I am simple and complicated. I am me...
This entry was posted in Ati's Life, Holidays, Joie de Vivre, LA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

